MEAL PREP MONDAY!!

“What do you call a fake noodle? An IMPASTA”

Happy Monday everyone!! 🙂 Hope that your weekend was excellent and you had plenty of rest and relaxation!! 🙂

… As you can tell by the picture posted above… I’ve entered a period of spaghetti craving.  It’s one of those things that is a staple in my home and once I went gluten free I simply had to sit and watch my entire family enjoy spaghetti while I pouted.  NO MORE I SAY.  This week (again… I’ll give credit to my newly gluten free mom on this one) we made brown rice spaghetti with a killer sauce.  Yes, I agree with you – person shaking your head at the screen saying “Hollie… this is not the healthiest option for me to be having everyday this week” I’m aware. HOWEVER…. I think everyone’s allowed to have indulgences every once in a while! Spaghetti just happens to be mine. 🙂

With that being said… let’s get on to this gluten free spaghetti recipe that will BLOW YOUR SOCKS FROM HERE TO KINGDOM COME. (that’s reaaaaaaallly far for those of you that don’t know where that is… in fact I’m pretty unsure of the address too actually…)

spaghetti

GLUTEN FREE SPAGHETTI!

-Cook brown rice spaghetti according to package!

(easy enough first step?)

Side note: you could totally use spaghetti squash instead of a pasta too!! Makes it a lot lighter and much more manageable to eat for the whole week!! 🙂  – Also it’s the MOST fun vegetable ever created…so there’s that…

Sauce!

Credit: http://www.laurenslatest.com/gluten-free-spaghetti-with-simple-meat-sauce/

1 lb. ground beef (organic if possible 🙂 )
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium to small sized onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups diced carrot
3-15 oz. diced tomatoes
1 can tomato paste
1 cup cold water
1 tablespoon basil
1/2 tablespoon oregano
1 tablespoon brown sugar (Optional)
2 small bay leaves or 1 large
salt & pepper, to taste

Directions

-Brown the ground beef in a skillet until evenly cooked

-Remove meat, drain skillet and add onions, garlic and carrots and sautee in olive oil until tender

-Re-add the meat with cans of tomatos, tomato paste, water and spices

-Reduce temperature to medium and cook covered for 1-4 hours stirring occasionally

WOAH… I know you looked at the 1-4 hours and went uhhhh ya no chance.. Honestly you don’t HAVE to let it cook that long… but as much time as you have to spare… trust me the longer it simmers the better it tastes.  All the flavours just party in the pan and it just turns into such a rich deep tomato sauce… pretty delicious. Now I want spaghetti all over again.

WELL LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, this is my meal prep monday for the week! 🙂 Hope everyone has a splendid week and I’ll be back next monday to GRACE YOU WITH MY ELECTRONIC PRESENCE again 🙂

Take home message:

thrive in life

Happy monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

